almondeye7's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Poem \" A Prayer Before Birh\"

Because my life is so boring and it would be a waste to cover the page with details of my workday and my chaotic ramblings,I am writing my poetry here now as well. So here is one that is deep and thoughtful.

A PRAYER BEFORE BIRTH

I am not yet born; O hear me, let not the blood sucking rat or stoat or the club footed ghoul come near me.

I am not yet born; console me, I fear that the human race may with stong drugs dope me, with wise lies lure me, on black racks rack me,in blood baths roll me.

I am not yet born; provide water to bath me, grass to grow for me, trees to talk to me, sky to sing to me, birds and white light in the back of my mind to guide me.

I am not yet born; forgive me for the sins that in me the world shall commit, my words when they speak me, my thoughts when they think me, my treason endangered by traitors beyond me, my life when they murder by means of my hands, my death when they live me.

I am not yet born; rehearse me, in the parts I must play and the cues I must take when old men lectur me, bureacrats hector me,mountains frown at me, lovers laugh at me, the white waves call to me to folly and the desert calls me to doom and the beggar refuses my gift and my children curse me.

I am not yet born; O hear me, let not the man who is beast or who thinks he is God come near me,like water held in the hands would spill me, let them not make me a stone and let them not spill me otherwise kill me.

- Angela

7:19 a.m. - 2002-06-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jackofhearts
pretty tear