almondeye7's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Poem:Father of my Country

This is my Second entrey today, THE FATHER OF MY COUNTRY

All Fathers in Western Civilization must have

a military origin. The

ruler,

governor,

yes,

he is

was the

gerneral at one time or other.

And George Washington

won the hearts

of his contry-the rough military man

with awkward

sincere

drawing-room manners.

My Father;

have you ever heard me speak of him?

I seldom do. But I had a father,

and he had military origins-or my orgins from

him.

are military,

militant. That is, I remember him only in uniform. But of the navy,

20 years a chief petty officer,

always away from home.

It is rough and hard for me to

speak now.

I'm not used to talking

about him.

Not used to naming his objects/

objects

that never surrounded me.

A woodpecker with fresh bloody crest

knocks

at my mouth. Father, for the first

time I say

your name. Name rolled in thick Polish parchment scrools,

name of Roman candle dripping when I sit at my table

alone each night,

name of uniforms and name of

telegrams, name of

coming home from your Sub,

name of shiny shoes

name of Hawaiin dolls,name

of mess spoons, name of greasy machinery, and name of

stencilled names.

Is it your blood I carry in a test tube,

my arm,

to let fall,crack,and spill on the sidewalk

In front of the men

I know,

I love,

I know, and

want? So you lest my house when I was just a baby

Being replaced by other machinery, and

I didn't belive you left me.

This scene: the trunk yielding treasures of a green fountain pen, heart-shaped mirror,amber beads, old letters with brown ink, and the gopher snake stretched across the palm tree in the front yard with woody trunk like monkey skins, and a sunset through the skinny persimmon trees. you came walking, not even a telegram or post card from Tahiti. Love, love, through my heart like ink in the thickest nubbed pen, black and flowing into words. you came to me, and I at least six in age. Six doilies of lace, six battleship cannon, six old beerbottles, six thick steaks, six love letters,six clocks running backwards, six watermelons, and six baby teeth, a six cornered hat on six men's heads, six lovers at once or one lover at sixes and sevens: how I confuse

all this with my

dream

walking the tightrope bridge

with gold knots

over

the mouth of an anemone/tissue spiral lips

and holding on so that the ropes burned

as if my wrists had been tied

If George washington

had not

been the father

of my contry,

it is doughtful that I would ever have

found

a father. Father in my mouth, on my lips, in my

tongue, out of all my womanly fire,

Father I have left in my steel filing cabinet as a name on my birth

certificate, father, I have left in the teeth pulled out at

detists' offices and thrown into their garbadge cans,

Father living in my Polish tantrums and my American speech, Father, not a holy name, not a name I cherish but the name I bear, the name

that makes me one of a kind in any phone book because

you changed it, and nobody

but us

has it,

Father who makes me dream in the dead of night of the falling cherry

blossoms, Father who makes me know all men will leave me

if I love them,

Father who made me a maverick,

a writer

a namer,

name/father, sun/father, moon/father, bloody mars/ father,

Other children said, "My father is a doctor"

or

"My father gave me this camera,"

or

:my father took me to movies"

or

"My Father and I went swimming."

but

my Father is coming in a letter

once a month

for a while,

and my father

sometimes came in telegram

but

mostly

my father came to me

in sleep, my Father because I dreamed in one night that I dug through

the ash heap in back of the pepper tree and found diamond shaped

like a dog and my father called the dog and it came leaping over to him and he walked away out of the yard down the road with the dog jumping and yipping at his heals,

my father was not in the telephone book

in my city;

my father was not sleeping with my mother

at home;

my father did not care if I studied the

piano;

my father did not care what

I did;

and I thought my father was handsome and I loved him and I

wondered why

he left me alone so much,

so many years

in fact, but

my father

made me what I am

a lonely women

without a purpose, just as I was

a lonely child

without any father. I walked with words, words, and names,

names. Father was notone of my words

Father was not

one of my names, But now I say, George you have become my father

in his 20th century naval uniform. George Waghinton, i need your

love; George i want to call you Father, Father, my Father,

Father of my country

that is

me.

And I say the name to chant it. To sing it. To lace it around me

like weaving cloth. like a happy child on that Shining afternoon in

the palmtree sunset with her mother's trunk yielding treasures,

I cry and

cry,

Father,

Father,

Father,

have you really come home?

11:20 a.m. - 2002-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jackofhearts
pretty tear