almondeye7's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want my MTV....and.....Decisons

I'm caught in a web. What do I do? Okay so I found out what this job is all about. It's telemarketing advertising space in the magazine from home.

I can look at this two ways:

Right now I'm telemarketing. This is not what I wanted to do. When I started this job I wanted to learn about banking. Bettween the old man and the commute this job blows. I'm unhappy. Unmotivated.

~~~I can go this way or that way~~~~~

If I take this position with the womens magazine there are several factors that I'm looking at.

1. Even though telemarketing is not what I had in mind this dose give me the perfect oppertunity to step up to the plate and summit my some of my work. I'd like to write for them to tell you the truth. This magazine looks right up my alley. It talks of womens issues, of children, of ideas. It is my dream to someday write.

2. With this job I'd be doing almost the same thing I've been doing but at home. Witch is a big bonus. It would be like working for myself. Do I have the self decipline for this? Do I have what it takes?

3. The words "Commission based" raise questions like- What about benifits? What if the "commision" isnt what it's cracked up to be? Ang seems to agree with me to be very carful with this. I need to have a steady flow of income comming in.

4. I know from experience that in the telemarketing business somedays are good others are bad. What if I have too many "bad" days? ~~But on the flip side ~~~ the ONLY differnces I'm REALLY looking at is the commision and working from home -verses- staying here and riding it out. but thats just the thing riding it out where. This job is going nowhere. If I go into business for myself I ALWAYS know I'm going somewhere.

5. I want to do something new. I want to chalenge myself. Chris seems supportive. Although I don't know what excactly the job entails I do know that the work would be easy for me...unless I have to come up with my own leads, that could get daunting. But what do I REALLY have to lose?

nothing.

I think I want to do this. And if I fail, (witch I wont) then I can always get another job...it won't pay nearly what I'm getting now, but I could pay my bills. God! this is a REALLY hard decision. I want to do it. But what if I can't cut it? I'll be disapointed at myself. And I hate feeling that way.

But on the other hand, if I stayed at home it would be alot less stressful for me. No more bus and barting around for 5 hours a day. Everyday. I could sleep in a little. I could work all day at my own pace. No one looking over my shoulder. No timecard to deal with. decisions, decisions.

Okay enough about this....

Axl Rose.

Guns-n-Roses. What they use to be. Okay so MTV must have displayed the worst VMA's EVER. Between Pink stumbling on stage drunk, or Axl Rose's attempt to sing. I guess I am old. I remember back in the hay day, MTV was about music. It wasn't about the Osbornes and thier strange flair. It wasn't about chessy comedy. It wasnt about stupid reality shows that are geared ONLY tord sex starved college kids.

I remember a time when MTV was not in every home. When the public and stars alike grabed the mic and screamed for thier MTV. I remember an irrate Dennis Leary ranting about Cindy Crawford and Jello filled bath tubs.

Cindy WHO?

I must be old. I remember a cool little show called remote control, that during the infancy of MTV became the starting point for other MTV endeavers. The real world was cool the first 2 seasons. What is it now the real world version 9? I don't know I stoped paying attention. But still. Enough is enough!

Okay so fast forward~~~2002 The VMA's were sooooo bad and to make matters worse what was to end the horrid show? Guns and Roses. Or at least I thought it was. Without slash the band is lame and Mr. Rose sounded old, tired, washed up, and awful. I guess thats what happens after years and years of bozzing.

What made the show sooo bad was the fact that most of the stars seemed to be behaveing badly. Most of the people that won were drunk and stupid. One after the other they stumbled up on the stage with out even looking up and mumbled something stupid like "Gee I wasn't expecting this." Sure.....

okay enough said I just thought I would vent about how taste has flown out the window. I mean this gives me the notion At least on MTV, anything goes, langauge, class, respect anything. It's just rude and crude now. And this is some of the reason I have stopped watching TV. OH well..Like I said maybe I'm just old. But the Guns n Roses performance, as bad as it was really made me long for the good old days of rock and roll. At least then the guys were dressed and so were the girls. By the way...what ever happened to all the clothes and desiner outfits? Is the Birthday suit in?

Next year I hear they want to have a "clothing is optional" For those "J" lo's and Britney's out there.

**Angela**

9:59 a.m. - Wednesday, Sept. 04, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jackofhearts
pretty tear